Skip to content

Failure to pay wages on time

We Stand Up For Employees

If you are fired, your employer must pay your final wages, including vacation, immediately. And even if you resign, your employer must pay you within 72 hours under Labor Code §§201, 202.

If they fail to do so, then there is a penalty of your daily rate of pay, up to a maximum of 30 days. This is called a “waiting time penalty.”

The Long Beach lawyers at Buchsbaum & Haag, LLP are dedicated to protecting the rights of employees throughout California. We work hard to help our clients get all of the pay they deserve, plus any additional penalties assessed to noncompliant employers.

Failure to pay wages on time

We Stand Up For Employees

If you are fired, your employer must pay your final wages, including vacation, immediately. And even if you resign, your employer must pay you within 72 hours under Labor Code §§201, 202.

If they fail to do so, then there is a penalty of your daily rate of pay, up to a maximum of 30 days. This is called a “waiting time penalty.”

The Long Beach lawyers at Buchsbaum & Haag, LLP are dedicated to protecting the rights of employees throughout California. We work hard to help our clients get all of the pay they deserve, plus any additional penalties assessed to noncompliant employers.

When Are You Supposed To Be Paid

California wage and hour law is specific regarding when employers must pay employees. In most situations, an employer must:

Pay employees at least twice each month

Pay all wages owed to an employee who quits within 72 hours (including vested vacation time)

Pay all wages owed to a terminated employee immediately (including vested vacation time)

Provide a wage or salary statement with each paycheck

Contact Us For a Free Consultation

To learn more about your rights as an employee, contact Buchsbaum & Haag LLP, by calling 562-733-2498. Located in Long Beach, we represent people throughout Southern California. Hablamos español